Official Plan Review


Official Plan Review

It has been almost 20 years since the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake revised its Official Plan. Many things have changed since then and we want you to be a part of deciding how our community will look 20 years from now.

In 2015, we released a series of technical papers and hosted a public consultation session to hear what you had to say about how Niagara-on-the-Lake is growing; environmental and agricultural issues and how we accommodate our residents.  These documents are available for review by using the links below.

In December 2015 we released the first draft of the new Official Plan.  A public engagement session was held on December 7, 2015.  Residents provided comments at that session and also provided written comments after the session.  These comments have been documented and a number have been incorporated into the second draft of the Official Plan.  A table of the comments received is available for review using the link below.

Draft Official Plan - June/July 2016
The third draft of the new Official Plan is available for review using the links below. Hard copy documents will also be available for review during the week of June 6 at the Town Municipal Offices, Niagara-on-the-Lake Public Library, and Queenston Community Centre.

A Statutory Public Open House will take place on June 22, 2016, at the NOTL Community Centre from 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.  Comments on the third draft are requested by Friday, July 15, 2016. Please send a letter c/o Town Clerk Holly Dowd to PO Box 100, Virgil, ON L0S 1T0 or hdowd@notl.org. Questions regarding the Official Plan may be directed to Jesse Auspitz, Planner II, at jauspitz@notl.org or 905-468-3266.

• Proposed New Official Plan Draft 3
•​ Schedules A-B4
•​ Schedules B5-B7
• Schedule C
• Schedules D1-D4
•​ Schedules E1-F
•​ Schedules G1-G4
• Schedules G5-G8
•​ Schedules H1-H7
•​ Schedules I1-15
•​ Appendices 1-3 

Comments Received for Draft 1 (Please note, the document will print as 11 x 17. The PDF is resizable for viewing on a computer screen.)

Design Guidelines:
Draft Niagara Stone Road Design Guidelines
Draft Mary Street Design Guidelines

See the following for more information:
Media Release - Official Plan Review Underway
My Plan NOTL - Official Plan Circular
Background Report
Special Public Meeting - July 22, 2013
Community Engagement Session #1 - Background Report
Community Engagement Session #2 - Heritage, Arts and Culture
Heritage, Arts, and Culture Issues Report
Community Engagement Session #3 - Built Environment
Built Environment Summary Report
Community Engagement Session #4 - Agriculture and the Natural Environment
Agriculture and the Natural Environment Report
Consultants secured to finalize the Official Plan document - May 2015
Community Engagement Session Notice - Sept 8, 2015
Presentation at Community Engagement Session - Sept 8, 2015

Technical Reports
• Growth Analysis – Technical Background Report - Oct 2015​

• Discussion Paper: Agricultural Background - Oct 2015
• Discussion Paper: Second Residential Units - Oct 2015
Discussion Paper: Environment - Oct 2015


For more information and to provide your feedback, please also visit us on  Facebook and Twitter or e-mail us at myplan@notl.org.

Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2014 iCompass Technologies Inc.